“Miss Misery”

When it’s over,
what will I miss?

Will I miss what I had?

Will I miss making you smile?
Your hand in mine?
Laughing for hours over nothing,
and finally feeling whole… hope… peace?

Yes.

Will I miss marveling at Providence plucking the two perfect Lights
from the Sea of Stars and placing them
together to shine with a resonant radiance that dazzled the very Heavens
as they burned away the Darkness?

Yes.

Yet,
sometimes we miss more what we never had.

I’ll miss what I missed
out on.

The wedding
  we never had.
The children
  we never had.
The trips
  we never took.
The smiles, laughs, and tears
  we never shared.
The life
  unlived.
The life that would have been so much better
                                                    so much more beautiful than—

But I missed
  my chance.

How could I have missed
  something
  so obvious?
So, now I’m missing
   from the world that I was meant for.
Instead, I spend my days
                                   months
                                   years
here
  missing
    you, and what it felt like
      not
        to have this pain in my chest.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started